Temporary Agricultural workers

About

Shortages of workers in the agricultural sector are a known fact, and contractors have been calling on governments for many years to find support and solutions. Hiring immigrant workers has become necessary because the local populations deserted the agricultural jobs to take over other economical fields. 

The Diocese of Montreal has been supporting temporary agricultural workers for 5 years now. In Quebec, around 10 000 workers arrive each year, mostly from Mexico and Guatemala, but also in smaller numbers from Honduras and Peru. 

 

The main goal from this service of the Diocese of Montreal is to facilitate their integration in a rural and French-speaking environment. The Diocese organizes occasional visits in the farms, and works to reduce the isolation they face during their stay in Quebec. We wish to create bridges between the workers and local populations in order to improve their living conditions, be it at the emotional, social but also employment level.

Each year, we organize a pilgrimage to the Saint-Joseph Oratory with the Latino communities of the Diocese.

1/7
 
 

partnerships

The Diocese of Montreal takes part in an interdiocesan concertation table for immigrant agricultural workers, and is also a member of RATTMAQ, the support network for immigrant agricultural workers of Quebec.

main contact

 temporary agricultural workers

Eleana Jaramillo

Project manager

514 925-4300

Eleana Jaramillo

Eleana is a psychosocial worker, and a specialist of Human Rights.

After working in the Social pastoral in the Diocese of Montreal, during which she consolidated a continuous partnership with the Office for cultural and ritual communities, she officially joins the team in 2020, where she now works as a pastoral coordinator and volunteer coordinator.

 
 

contact us

2000, Sherbrooke street west

Montraal, QC h3h 1g4

on appointment only!

Thank you for your message!

travailleu·ses·rs agricoles saisonniers

À PROPOS

Les pénuries de main-d’œuvre dans le secteur agricole sont connues depuis longtemps, et les entrepreneurs ont insisté́ au fil des années auprès des gouvernements pour qu’ils les soutiennent et les aident à̀ trouver des solutions. Le recours aux travailleu·ses·rs étrangers est devenu « essentiel » du fait que la population locale a déserté les champs pour occuper d’autres secteurs d’activité́ économique.

Il y a déjà 5 ans que le Diocèse de Montréal vient en aide aux travailleu·ses·rs agricoles étrangers. Au Québec, environ 10.000 travailleurs arrivent chaque année, provenant principalement du Mexique et du Guatemala, mais aussi un petit nombre de l’Honduras et du Pérou.

 

Le principal objectif du service du Diocèse de Montréal est de faciliter leur intégration dans le monde francophone rural. Le Diocèse organise des visites ponctuelles dans les fermes et travaille également à briser l’isolement auquel ils font face pendant leur séjour au Québec. On souhaite créer des liens entre les travailleurs et la population locale enfin d’améliorer leurs conditions de vie tant au plan émotionnel, social qu’en ce qui concerne le travail. Chaque année on organise un pèlerinage à l’Oratoire Saint Joseph avec les communautés latinos du Diocèse. 

1/7
 
 

partenariats

Le Diocèse de Montréal fait partie d’une table de concertation interdiocésaine pour les travailleuses et travailleurs migrants agricoles, et est également membre du Réseau d'aide  aux  travailleuses  et  travailleurs  Migrants  agricoles du Québec (RATTMAQ).

personne contacT

 travailleu·ses·rs agricoles saisonniers

Eleana Jaramillo

Adjointe à l'Office

514 925-4300

Eleana Jaramillo

Eleana est intervenante psychosociale et spécialiste des droits de l'Homme.

Après avoir œuvré au sein de la Pastorale sociale du Diocèse de Montréal pendant plusieurs années, durant lequel Eleana a solidifié un partenariat continu avec l'Office des communautés culturelles et rituelles elle a officiellement rejoint l'équipe en 2020, où elle travaille désormais à titre de  coordinatrice de Pastorale et des bénévoles de l'Office. 

 
 

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

2000, rue Sherbrooke Ouest

Montréal, QC h3h 1g4

sur rendez-vous seulement !